Published On: Fri, Apr 21st, 2017

Liverpool in dilemma as Chelsea, Spurs dominate Team of the Year

Share This

Liverpool’s injury crisis has worsened ahead of Sunday’s Premier League clash with Crystal Palace with defenders Joel Matip, Ragnar Klavan and Lucas Leiva all doubtful due to injury, manager Juergen Klopp said yesterday.
They are already without influential midfielders Adam Lallana and Jordan Henderson as they attempt to consolidate their top-four spot that would guarantee another Champions League campaign, although the former could be in line to return against Watford on May 1.
But Klopp believes Sam Allardyce’s Palace, who is not yet safe from relegation, are capable of posing an aerial threat for his defence, with former Liverpool striker Christian Benteke leading the line for the visitors.
Crystal Palace, who are 15th in the league, have won five of their last seven games to move seven points clear of the relegation zone with six games to play.
Meanwhile, Players from Premier League title-chasers Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur dominate the Professional Football Association’s Team of the Year announced yesterday, occupying eight of the starting 11 spots.
Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante, a league title winner with Leicester City last campaign, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea and Tottenham trio Dele Alli, Danny Rose and Harry Kane all make the team for the second consecutive season.
Spurs’ Kyle Walker was also named in the side along with fellow defenders Gary Cahill and David Luiz of Chelsea.
Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard, the PFA Player’s Player of the Year in 2014-15, was also back in the line-up.
Everton striker Romelu Lukaku, the league’s top scorer, and Liverpool winger Sadio Mane also made the team.
Among the big names missing out were Manchester United’s leading scorer Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez, who were both nominated for the PFA Player’s Player of the Year earlier this month.
All 92 clubs in the English Football League and eight sides from the Women’s Super League voted for the Team of the Year ahead of the 44th PFA Awards in London on Sunday.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>